اعلان نتائج المسوحات الوطنية: برنامج قطر جينوم يلقى دعمًا شعبيًا كبيرًا

Survey results

توصلت دراسة استقصائية حديثة، أجراها برنامج قطر جينوم، إلى وجود استعداد واسع لدى سكان دولة قطر للمشاركة في المبادرة التي تسعى إلى رسم خريطة للجينوم القطري. وقد تم الإعلان عن نتائج الدراسة في وزارة الصحة العامة.

وقام معهد البحوث الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المسحية بدراستين مسحيتين، ركزت الأولى على استجابة عامة الجماهير، بينما ركزت الدراسة الثانية على أخصائيي الرعاية الصحية.

وتوصلت الدراسة الاستقصائية، التي أُجريت على 837 مواطنًا قطريًا بالغًا، إلى أن الغالبية العظمى من المشاركين في الدراسة أبدوا استعدادهم للمشاركة في برنامج قطر جينوم، من خلال المساهمة بعيناتهم البيولوجية وتاريخهم الطبي إلى قطر بيوبنك.

وعندما سُئل المشاركون في الدراسة عن أسباب استعدادهم للمشاركة فيها، كانت الردود الثلاثة الأكثر شيوعًا هي الرغبة في التعرف على المزيد من المعلومات عن صحتهم، ومحاولة عدم التعرض لمشاكل صحية في المستقبل، والمساهمة العلمية في البرنامج.

وأظهرت دراسة استقصائية ثانية، تستهدف العاملين في الرعاية الصحية الذين سيكونون مسؤولين عن دمج علم الجينوم في طرق علاج مرضاهم، أن أغلبية المشاركين في الدراسة أبدوا استعدادهم لاستخدام علم الجينوم في عملية التشخيص والعلاج. وكشفت النتائج عن حاجة القطاع الصحي للمستشارين الوراثيين بشدة، وحاجة العاملين في الرعاية الصحية لدراسة مفاهيم علم الجينوم وتطبيقاته في العيادة والمستشفى، للتمكن من الاستفادة منه.

QGP SURVEYS FIND OVERWHELMING PUBLIC SUPPORT FOR INITIATIVE

Survey results

Two surveys on Qatar Genome Programme (QGP) have found widespread willingness among the local population to participate in the initiative, which seeks to map the Qatari genome. The results of the surveys were announced yesterday at the Ministry of Public Health.

The two surveys were conducted by the Social and Economic Survey Research Institute at Qatar University, the first was directed to the general public, and the second to healthcare professionals.

A survey of 837 adult Qatari nationals found that an overwhelming majority would be willing to participate in the QGP, where, in order to participate, individuals contribute biological samples and their medical history to Qatar Biobank.

When respondents were asked about their reasons for wanting to participate, the three most popular responses were: to know more about their health, to prevent future health conditions, and to contribute to science.

A second survey, targeting healthcare providers, who will be responsible for incorporating genomics into their patients’ treatments, showed that the vast majority of respondents were willing to use genomics to treat and diagnose. It also showed a great need for genetic counselors, and the need to expand education in genomic medicine in order integrate it into the clinical setting.

QGP National Surveys Results announcement lecture