قطر جينوم يُقَّيِم المشهد الوراثي لأمراض القلب لدى القطريين في تعاون بحثي مع المبادرة القطرية للقلب والأوعية الدموية لمجموعة كبيرة من المرضى القطريين

QGP and QCBio

الدوحة، قطر- 25 أغسطس 2018: شرع قطر جينوم، عضو مؤسسة قطر، في تعاون بحثي مع المبادرة القطرية للقلب والأوعية الدموية (QCBio)بمستشفى القلب التابع لمؤسسة حمد الطبية، يشمل إجراء تحليل التسلسل الكامل للجينوم، لمجموعة كبيرة من المرضى القطريين.

 

ويُشَكِل هذا التعاون جزءًا من رسالة قطر جينوم التي تقوم على التعاون مع مختلف المؤسسات الوطنية الطبية والبحثية من أجل تطوير مستقبل الرعاية الصحية في دولة قطر. وسيساهم هذا المشروع، الذي يضم قطر بيوبنك، عضو مؤسسة قطر، في تسهيل تحليل المحددات الجينية الكامنة المتعلقة بمشاكل القلب لدى السكان القطريين، في سعي إلى اكتشاف مؤشرات حيوية ووضع إجراءات وقائية وعلاجية فعالة.

 

وقد شارك حوالي 1000 مشارك قطري وعائلاتهم في المبادرة القطرية للقلب والأوعية الدموية حتى الآن. وفي إطار التحضير للمرحلة الثانية، أُرسلت عينات المشاركين لإجراء تحليل التسلسل الكامل للجينوم، وسيعمل تحليل البيانات الناتجة على دراسة أمراض القلب وكشف طرق جديدة وموجهة لإجراء معالجة فردية ومشخصنة لأمراض القلب في قطر.

 

وفي السنوات الأخيرة، ومع ازدياد أعباء مرض الشريان التاجي بشكل كبير في منطقة الخليج والعالم. قدّرت منظمة الصحة العالمية أنه وبحلول عام 2020 ستكون أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية هي المسبب الرئيسي للمرض والوفاة. وتختلف أعراض مرض الشريان التاجي بشكل كبير من شخص لآخر، حيث يمكن أن تتمثل في ضربات القلب غير الطبيعية (الخفقان) وأيضًا في الموت المفاجئ في سن مبكرة.

 

تعليقًا على أهداف هذا التعاون، قالت الأستاذة الدكتورة أسماء آل ثاني، رئيس اللجنة الوطنية لبرنامج قطر جينوم ونائب رئيس مجلس أمناء قطر بيوبنك: "تتمثل رؤيتنا في تحسين جودة الصحة المستقبلية للمجتمع المحلي، لنكون روادًا في أبحاث الجينوم وخاصة تلك التي تتجسد في نتائج ملموسة وتؤثر على شعبنا بشكل مباشر. وهذا لا يمكن أن يحدث من دون شراكة قوية مع الذراع الإكلينيكي الرئيسي للرعاية الصحية في قطر، وهي مؤسسة حمد الطبية. ويُمثل التعاون مع المبادرة القطرية للقلب والأوعية الدموية إحدى مبادراتنا المختلفة التي تركز على الأولويات الوطنية لمكافحة الأمراض، وتحسين نوعية الحياة الصحية للمجتمع المحلي من خلال تطبيقات الطب الدقيق".

 

وكان الدكتور جاسم السويدي، مدير أبحاث القلب والأوعية الدموية بمستشفى حمد العام وفريقه قد أطلقوا المبادرة القطرية للقلب والأوعية الدموية، التي تشمل حفظ العينات البيولوجية من المرضى والأفراد الأصحاء. وتعد هذه الدراسة النوعية للقلب هي الأولى من نوعها في المنطقة.

 

وتحدث الدكتور السويدي عن التعاون المشترك بين برنامج قطر جينوم، والمبادرة القطرية للقلب والأوعية الدموية، بقوله: "نحن في مركز أبحاث القلب والأوعية الدموية بمؤسسة حمد الطبية، متحمسون جدًا لهذا التعاون مع قطر جينوم وقطر بيوبنك، أعضاء مؤسسة قطر، ونأمل أن يمهّد هذا المشروع الطريق لفرص ً كبيرة على مستوى العلاج الطبي الشخصي لأكثر أسباب الوفاة شيوعًا في قطر والعالم لدى الرجال والنساء".

 

ويتركز دور برنامج قطر جينوم، بوصفه مبادرة وطنية رائدة على مستوى العالم، على إجراء بحوث الجينوم وإدماجها في الرعاية الصحية، والتعاون مع المؤسسات الوطنية الطبية والبحثية لرسم خريطة الجينوم القطري، ودراسة العينات المتوفرة لدى قطر بيوبنك كمركز أبحاث وطني يستخدم عينات بيولوجية ودراسات صحية لدراسة الأنماط الظاهرية لدى المجتمع المحلي.

Qatar Genome embarked on a research collaboration with the Qatar Cardiovascular Biorepository involving whole genome sequencing of a large cohort of Qatari patients

QGP and QCBio

Doha, Qatar – August 26, 2018: Qatar Genome Programme (QGP), a member of Qatar Foundation (QF), has embarked on a research collaboration with the Qatar Cardiovascular Biorepository (QCBio) at the Heart Hospital of Hamad Medical Corporation (HMC), involving whole genome sequencing of a large cohort of Qatari patients.

The collaboration forms part of QGP’s mission to work with various local institutions on improving the future of healthcare in Qatar. The project, involving Qatar Biobank, also a member of QF, will analyze the underlying genetic determinants related to heart problems in the Qatari population, and aims to lead to the discovery of protein biomarkers, and effective prevention and treatment measures.

Around 1,000 Qatari patients and their families have participated in the QCBio initiative to date. In preparation for phase 2, participant samples were sent for whole genome sequencing. Analysis of the resulting data will shed light on heart disease pathways and will reveal new and targeted approaches for individualized treatment of heart disease in Qatar.

In recent years, coronary heart disease (CHD) has increased dramatically in the Arabian Gulf region and worldwide. The World Health Organization estimates that by the year 2020, cardiovascular diseases will be the major cause of morbidity and mortality. CHD presentations and symptoms vary greatly and could be anywhere from abnormal heartbeats (palpitations) to sudden death at a young age.

Professor Asma Al-Thani, Chairperson of the Qatar Genome Programme Committee, and Board Vice Chairperson of Qatar Biobank, explained the aims of the collaboration: “Our vision is to improve the quality of future health for the local society, and to be pioneers in genomic research that translates into tangible outcomes, and impacts our people directly. This cannot happen without a strong partnership with the main clinical arm of healthcare in Qatar, which is HMC. This collaboration with QCBio is one of our various initiatives focusing on genomics of national disease priorities, to improve the quality of life for the local society through the implementation of precision medicine”.

Dr Jassim Al Suwaidi, Director of Cardiovascular Research at Hamad General Hospital, and his team started the QCBio initiative, which is a biorepository of samples from both patients and healthy individuals, and is the first of its kind in the region.

Dr Al Suwaidi explained the project, saying: “In the cardiovascular research center at HMC, we are excited about this collaboration with Qatar Genome Programme and Qatar Biobank and we hope that this project paves the way for opportunities for personalized medicine therapies for the most common cause of death in Qatar and worldwide, both in men and women.

The role of Qatar Genome Programme lies in being a national genomics research initiative working in collaboration with many local stakeholders and researchers, to map the genome of the local population, and study the wealth of data collected and held by Qatar Biobank.